Die Marke PERSPEX<sup>®</sup> - Equivalent of Wealth

Die Marke PERSPEX® - Equivalent of Wealth

Eine Ausstellung von Vincent Knopper

Als bildender Künstler ist der Holländer Vincent Knopper fasziniert von der simplen Genialität traditioneller Baumaterialien. In seiner Ausstellung „Equivalent of Wealth“ (Gegenwert von Reichtum) lud er im März 2019 die Besucher dazu ein, anhand seiner Skulpturen und Entwürfe mehr über die typischen Architekturelemente und Materialien im Wohnungsbau zu erfahren.

Seine Werke thematisieren den Herstellungsprozess und erläutern den Sinn von Materialien, in dem er funktionale Objekte in ihrer reinsten Form darstellt.

Aus mehreren Platten Perspex® Farblos in der Stärke 6mm entstanden 3460 x 1800 mm große Paneele, die vor den Fenstern des Ausstellungsraums installiert wurden. Die Skulpturen präsentierte der Künstler auf weißen Sockeln aus 4mm starkem, zugeschnittenem und verklebtem Perspex® Opal

Um den eigentlichen Verwendungszweck und die „Herkunft“ des Materials hervorzuheben, beließ Knoppers auf allen Perspex® Acrylglas Platten die Schutzfolie, die normalerweise nach der Installation entfernt wird.

Knoppers entschied sich nicht nur deshalb bewusst für die Marke Perspex®, weil das Material oft für die Herstellung von Massenartikeln verwendet wird, sondern auch, weil der Markenname oft generisch für diese Art von Material eingesetzt wird. Der Name findet sogar in Lexika in den Niederlanden und Großbritannien Erwähnung. Daher war die gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz und die weitreichende Verwendung des Markennamens Perspex® ein wichtiger Aspekt für den Kontext der Ausstellung.

Entdecken Sie weitere Fallstudien, die das kreative Potential von Perspex® Acrylglas illustrieren.

*Foto: Simon Lenskens

PERSPEX<sup>®</sup> brand - Equivalent of Wealth

PERSPEX® brand - Equivalent of Wealth

A Solo exhibition by Vincent Knopper

Dutch visual artist, Vincent Knopper, is fascinated by the brilliance and simplicity of traditional manufactured materials. In March 2019, Knopper’s exhibition Equivalent of Wealth showcased a series of his sculptures and interventions; inviting its visitors to learn more about the typical architectural elements and materials used in social housing.

Knopper’s installations and sculptures reflect on the process of making and tell their story about the meaning of materials by presenting functional objects in their purest form.

Several sheets of PERSPEX® Clear in 6mm thickness were used to build 3460 x 1800 mm vitrines, which covered the windows of the exhibition place. PERSPEX® Opal sheets in 4 mm thickness were cut to size, glued together to form white pedestals used to display the sculptures.

In order to highlight the identity of the acrylic products and demonstrate the signs of authenticity from the makers, Knopper displayed all PERSPEX® acrylic panels with the product masking still intact; even though this protective layer would normally be removed after installation.

Knopper specifically chose the PERSPEX® brand because the product doesn’t only represent an acrylic sheet brand often used for mass-production in various applications, but it gets the general recognition as a type of material. In fact, PERSPEX® brand name is so popular that it is included in dictionaries in the Netherlands as well as in the UK. Thus, the social significance and generic use of the PERSPEX® brand name was an important point in the context of the exhibition. 

Take a look at more case studies which harness the creative potential of PERSPEX® acrylic.

*Photocredit: Simon Lenskens